Replay 2019




From 8.45 am to 11.10 am: Introductory remarks by Lapo Pistelli, executive vice president for international affairs at Eni, followed by an interview with Pascal Canfin, MEP and chair of the ENVI Committee, and Barbara Botos, deputy secretary of state for climate policy at the Hungarian Ministry of Innovation and Technology, moderated by Jan Cienski, senior policy editor at POLITICO.

This will be followed by two panel discussions:

  • “Short-term vision versus long-term benefits: What’s the right balance?” with Markus J. Beyrer, director-general of BusinessEurope, Sandrine Dixson-Declève, Co-President of The Club of Rome, Petri Peltonen, under-secretary of state at the Finnish Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, and Mario Nava, director for horizontal policies at the European Commission’s DG FISMA, moderated by Paola Tamma, reporter at POLITICO.
  • “Trifecta: Combining environmental, social and economic aspects of sustainability” with Eila Kreivi, director and head of the capital markets department at the European Investment Bank (EIB), Janez Potočnik, co-chair of the UN International Resource Panel, and Richard White, vice-president for procurement & sustainability at AB InBev Europe, and moderated by Bjarke Smith-Meyer, reporter at POLITICO.

From 11.40 am to 1.00 pm: Spotlight discussion “Business insights: making sustainability more profitable” with Alexandra Brand, chief sustainability officer at Syngenta, and Robert Metzke, global head of sustainability at Philips, moderated by Jan Cienski, senior policy editor at POLITICO.

This will be followed by opening remarks by Keith Kenny, vice president of sustainability at McDonald’s, and a panel discussion “Thinking green: Are consumers a driver for the circular economy?” with Michelle Gibbons, director-general of the European Brands Association, Johann Jenson, chief product officer at Grover, Kathrin Krause, policy officer for sustainable consumption at the Federation of German Consumer Organizations, and Kęstutis Sadauskas, director for circular economy and green growth at the European Commission’s DG Environment, and moderated by Anca Gurzu, reporter at POLITICO.

From 2.40 pm to 3.30 pm:  Opening remarks by Roberto Ferrigno, EU policy advisor at Novamont, followed by a panel discussion “The battle of materials” with Eija Hietavuo, SVP sustainability at Stora Enso, Daniel Calleja Crespo, director-general at the European Commission’s DG Environment, Jeremy Wates, secretary general of the European Environmental Bureau, and Patricia Vangheluwe, executive director of PlasticsEurope, and moderated by Eline Schaart, reporter at POLITICO.


Ben Allen
Head of Agriculture and Land Management Program, Institute for European Environmental Policy
Andreas Baumüller
Head of Natural Resources, WWF
Markus J. Beyrer
Director-General, BUSINESSEUROPE
Julianne Bir
Head of Trade Union Policy, European Trade Union Confederation
Barbara Botos
Deputy Secretary of State for Climate Policy, Ministry of Innovation and Technology, Hungary
Alexandra Brand
Chief Sustainability Officer, Syngenta
Pascal Canfin
Member of the European Parliament (Renew Europe, France)
Daniel Calleja Crespo
Director-General, DG Environment, European Commission
Orsola de Castro
Founder and Creative Director, Fashion Revolution
Sandrine Dixson-Declève
Co-President, The Club of Rome
Juan Carlos Espinosa
Environmental Leader, Fedepalma
Roberto Ferrigno
EU Policy Advisor, Novamont
Michelle Gibbons
Director-General, European Brands Association
Katrin Ganswindt
Disinvestment Campaigner, Urgewald
Bjorn Hansen
Executive Director, European Chemicals Agency
Eija Hietavuo
SVP Sustainability, Stora Enso
Johann Jenson
Chief Product Officer, Grover
Keith Kenny
Vice President of Sustainability, McDonald’s Corporation
Kathrin Krause
Policy Officer for Sustainable Consumption, Federation of German Consumer Organisations
Eila Kreivi
Director and Head of Capital Markets, European Investment Bank
Chantal Marijnissen
Head for the environment, natural resources and water, DG DEVCO, European Commission
Marco Mensink
Director-General, Cefic
Robert Metzke
Chief of Staff Innovation & Strategy and Head of Sustainability, Philips
Hannah Mowat
Campaigns Coordinator, FERN
Mario Nava
Director for Horizontal Policies, DG FISMA, European Commission
Kira Peter-Hansen
Member of the European Parliament (Greens/EFA, Denmark)
Petri Peltonen
Under-Secretary of State at the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, Finland
Sarah Pickard
Professor, Université Sorbonne Nouvelle
Lapo Pistelli
Executive Vice President for International Affairs, Eni
Janez Potočnik
Co-chair of the UN International Resource Panel, UN Environment
Anna Maria Rugarli
Senior Director for Sustainability and Responsibility, VF Corporation
Kęstutis Sadauskas
Director for Circular Economy and Green Growth, DG Environment, European Commission
Blanca Salgado
Technology Lead EMEA, Dupont Water Solutions
Pekka Timonen
Mayor of Lahti, Finland
Patrick Trötschler
Deputy Managing Director and Program Manager, Bodensee Stiftung
Patricia Vangheluwe
Executive Director, PlasticsEurope
Jeremy Wates
Secretary General, European Environmental Bureau
Richard White
Vice-President for Procurement & Sustainability, AB InBev Europe
Mirjam Wolfrum
Director for Policy Engagement, CDP Europe